Tasks and functions

The CC defines concepts and strategies for the national cryospheric-observation-programs and stipulates the necessary regulations. A national integral cryospheric-observation-network which covers snow, glaciers and permafrost is aspired in the medium-term. The Commission assures the integration of all expertise available in Switzerland, the newest concepts and the coordination with international programs.

The CC is an Expert Commission of the SCNAT (Swiss Academy of Sciences) according to Art. 13 para.1 e of the Statutes. It is composed of approved experts in monitoring of snow, glaciers and permafrost and related scientific branches. The group comprises employees of different Universities, institutes for scientific research and Federal Offices.

The Commission is constituted on its own. The organization and practical application of the Commission’s tasks and individual responsibilities are set out in the regulations. The CC collaborates in close contact with the Swiss Snow, Ice and Permafrost Society. By doing so existing competences are considered and valued. Contracts are signed by the funding institutions and entities.

Tâches et fonctions

EKK définit les concepts et les stratégies pour le programme national d’observation de la cryosphère et décide de ses règles de fonctionnement. La réalisation d’un réseau national intégré regroupant la neige, les glaciers et le pergélisol est visée à moyen terme. La Commission se charge de recueillir toutes les études traitant de la cryosphère en Suisse, d’intégrer les nouveaux concepts et méthodes de mesures, et de veiller à la coordination avec des programmes internationaux.

EKK est une commission d’experts de ScNat (Académie Suisse des Sciences Naturelles) en fonction de l’Art. 1, al.1 e de ses statuts. Elle est composée d’experts reconnus dans l’observation de la neige, des glaciers et du pergélisol, ainsi que dans des domaines scientifiques étroitement liés. Le groupe se compose de membres de plusieurs universités, d’instituts de recherche et d’offices fédéraux.

La Commission est responsable pour définir ses règles de fonctionnement. L’organisation et l’établissement des tâches d’EKK et des responsabilités qui incombent à ses membres sont définit dans un règlement. EKK collabore étroitement avec la société Neige, Glace et Pergélisol. De cette manière, les diverses compétences existantes dans le domaine de la cryosphère peuvent être valorisées. Les contrats sont validés par les institutions et les partenaires qui la financent.