Tasks and functions

The CC defines concepts and strategies for the national cryospheric-observation-programs and stipulates the necessary regulations. A national integral cryospheric-observation-network which covers snow, glaciers and permafrost is aspired in the medium-term. The Commission assures the integration of all expertise available in Switzerland, the newest concepts and the coordination with international programs.

The CC is an Expert Commission of the SCNAT (Swiss Academy of Sciences) according to Art. 13 para.1 e of the Statutes. It is composed of approved experts in monitoring of snow, glaciers and permafrost and related scientific branches. The group comprises employees of different Universities, institutes for scientific research and Federal Offices.

The Commission is constituted on its own. The organization and practical application of the Commission’s tasks and individual responsibilities are set out in the regulations. The CC collaborates in close contact with the Swiss Snow, Ice and Permafrost Society. By doing so existing competences are considered and valued. Contracts are signed by the funding institutions and entities.

Aufgaben

Die EKK legt Konzepte und Strategien für die nationalen Kryosphären-Beobachtungsprogramme fest und erlässt die dafür notwendigen Reglemente. Mittelfristig wird dabei ein nationales integrales Kryosphären-Beobachtungsnetz, welches Schnee, Gletscher und Permafrost umfasst, angestrebt. Sie gewährleistet dabei den Einbezug aller in der Schweiz vorhandenen Fachkompetenzen, neuster Konzepte und Messtechniken sowie eine Abstimmung mit internationalen Programmen.

Die EKK ist eine Expertengruppe der SCNAT im Sinne von Art 13 Abs 1e der Statuten. Sie setzt sich zusammen aus anerkannten Experten für das Monitoring in den Bereichen Schnee, Gletscher und Permafrost, sowie den damit verbundenen Forschungsbereichen. Die Gruppe besteht aus Mitarbeitern der verschiedener Universitäten, Forschungsanstalten und Bundesämtern.

Die Kommission konstituiert sich selbst. Organisation und Durchführung der Kommissionsaufgaben sowie die Verantwortlichkeiten für die einzelnen Aufgaben werden in einem Geschäftsreglement geregelt. Die EKK arbeitet in engem Kontakt mit der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Schnee, Eis und Permafrost. Dabei sollen die bereits vorhandenen Kompetenzen entsprechend berücksichtigt werden. Verträge werden von den finanzierenden Institutionen und Körperschaften unterzeichnet.